Trip. Dog. Ow . A rhythmic poem.

Kate-Running-toward-Camera-Tongue-Hanging-Out-1920

Running
Tongue flapping
dog is delighted
Pulling on leash
paining my back with their every darting movement
Should have taken the opportunity
to go to puppy training class
before large dog became larger than me

Glee-filled giggles last
only momentarily.
Dart! Dash! Leash becomes taunt
dog in front
running so fast
my feet
they can’t stop
They won’t stop
Please feet
Please stop!

Tripping
Falling towards pavement
I can already smell the pain
the blood,
the cries of agony
as I plummet towards the asphalt with bare knees once so beautifully unbroken

Dog
Licks my sad
scraped
annoyed face
Tail wags merrily
as if nothing painful just happened

Arrrrgh
dog!

Leave a Reply

